Towanda's Smith, Mansfield's Learn finish top 3 at Owego; NEB boys third at PIAA Foundation.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | September 22, 2013 | Photo courtesy The Review


2013 Owego Cross Country InviteOWEGO, N.Y. - Simon Smith led Towanda to a third place finish in the boys' varsity race at the Owego Invitational Saturday.

Smith was third overall in 16:47.8 while the Black Knights earned the bronze as a team with a score of 127. Maine-Endwell won in 39 while Horseheads was second with a 91.

Waverly took ninth overall in 223 while Troy was 13th in 329.

Scuyler Smith was eighth in 17:30.6 for the Knights followed by Kevin Blackman (18:35.3) in 30th, Derrick Cole (18:40.6) in 31st, Nicholas Secules (19:37.1) in 63rd, Jordan Isbell (19:49.1) in 69th and Terrick Vargason (21:42.2) in 113th.

Leading Waverly was Collin Traub in 17th at 17:57.2. He was followed by Randy Chandler (18;24) in 24th, Mark Kraus (19:12.1) in 53rd, Garrett Sutryk (19:26) in 58th, Hunter Bodine (20:20.9) in 88th, Jared Vascoe (23:09.4) in 126th and Kasey Madigan (23:20.8) in 129th.

Ethan Calkins led Troy, taking 19th in 18:11.3. He was followed by Adam Gentilin (20:01.2) in 74th, Jordan Grimes (20:03.4) in 75th, Jacob Culkin (20:16.1) in 84th, Kyle Petris (21:35.7) in 112th and Lucas Nichols (21:59) in 116th.

Running attached out of Mansfield was Notre Dame's Garrett Butters, who took 12th in 17:42.6.

Watkins Glen's Matt Gill won the race in 16:29.

On the girls' side Mansfield's Violet Learn and Simone Lichty led the Tigers to a sixth place finish with 149 points. They were over 17 points behind second place Corning while Horseheads won with 111.

Waverly was seventh with 158, Towanda was 11th with 198 and Athens was 13th in 275.

Learn was second in 21:03.4 while Lichty took fourth in 21:04.0. Windsor's Kaylee Stone won in 20;45.7.

Also for Mansfield, Brittany Weiskopff was 37th in 23:29.5, Ayla Rohl was 57th in 24:37.8 and Logan Wilson was 78th in 25:42.7.

Kelsey Frank's 12th place finish in 21:56 led Waverly. Also for the Wolverines Kaylee Uhl was 20th in 22:34, Breanna Featherson was 28th in 23:02.6, Katelyn Moore was 34th in 23:17.9 and Katie Dibble was 93rd in 28:00.3.

Kaitlin Purdy had a top 10 finish to lead Towanda, taking eighth in 21:33.2.

Also for the Black Knights, Victoria Ackley was 19th in 22:16.3, Ezozahon Ismailova was 48th in 23:59.1, Isabella Sedor was 82nd in 26:03, Kinslee Kriner was 83rd in 26:07.3, Colleen Purdy was 86th in 26:34.2 and Jazmine Reyes was 91st in 27:21.2.

Maria Hudock led Athens, taking 33rd in 23:15.3. She was followed by Casey Lattimer in 59th at 25:06.5, Emily Madigan in 67th at 25:06.5, Claire Troasorras in 81st at 25:58.2 and Jamie Larew in 107th at 31:23.5.

Kassidy Colton led Troy, taking 71st in 25:23.6. She was followed by Leah Ward in 74th at 25:34.8, Faith Cryan in 94th at 28:09.6 and Meghan Rogers in 99th at 28:45.

In the JV girls' race Northeast Bradford's Alyssa Turner won in 23:07.4.

In the Small School girls' modified race Northeast Karli Moyer won in 10:54.7 to lead Northeast to the team title with 45 points.

The NEB boys swept the Small School boys' modified race, led by Tyler Devonshire in 9:28.5. Nate Mosier was second in 9:40 while Aaron Boss was third in 9:48.2.

The Panthers scored 21 points for the win.


The Northeast Bradford boys took third in the Class A (White) race with 102 points.

Masterman won it with 46 while Saegertown was second with 64 points.

Wyalusing took eighth with 243 while Sullivan County was 12th with 306.

Levi Upham took sixth to lead Northeast in 17:24 while Brandon Devonshire was ninth in 17:36.

Garrett Smith finished 22nd in 18:05, Sam Beers was 32nd in 18:48, Austin Senn-Bishop was 38th in 19:00, Ben Horton was 45th in 19:06 and Derek Allabaugh was 49th in 19:09.

Zamien Benditt-Parkes was 14th in 17:40 to lead the Rams while Mitchell Schools was 44th in 19:05. Jordan Schools was 46th in 19:07, Matt Woodruff was 56th in 19:29, Tracey Brown was 91st in 20:39, Josh Haley was 112th in 21:39 and Wesley Ballard was 127th in 23:14.

Thomas Choplick led Sullivan, taking 37th in 18:57.

Also for the Griffins, Bob Polcrack was 50th in 19:10, Jordan Beinlich was 54th in 19:26, Liam Molyneux was 75th in 20:04, Jordan Pedro was 101st in 21:10, Jon Pedro was 104th in 21:16 and Jennings Martin was 139th in 24:32.

In the Class AA (Blue) race Sayre was 23rd with 561 points.

Pottsgrove with 101 but District IV took the second and third place spots. Mount Carmel earned the Silver with 133 points while Danville was third with 165.

Nick Sweet was eighth in 17:29 to lead the Redskins while Andy Platt was 83rd in 19:37.

Also for Sayre, John Misner was 157th in 21:32, Marshall Jeremy was 162nd in 20:00 and Michael Richman was 171st in 22:31.

In the girls' Class A (White) race Northeast Bradford was 12th with 288 points while Sullivan County was 16th with 373 and Wyalusing was 17th with 430.

It was all District II at the top as Elk Lake (58 points) edged out Holy Cross (60) while Montrose (88) was third.

Northeast's Lydia Werner was 15th with a time of 21:24 to lead the Panthers. Also for Northeast, Taylor Arnold was 55th in 24:00, Rachel Cooper was 81st in 25:14, Chelsie Souto was 92nd in 25:42, Shelby Park was 99th in 26:07 and Andrea Williams was 100th in 26:11.

For Sullivan, Alexis Kiess was 51st in 23:45. She was followed by Bridget Paonessa in 66th at 24:29, Mackenzie Doyle in 78th at 25:09, Bethany Lambert in 89th at 25:33, Emily McMahon in 106th at 26:42, Kelly Kramer in 111th at 27:47 and Olivia Morgan in 119th in 28:42.

Morgan Sutton led Wyalusing, taking 82nd in 25:15, right ahead of teammate Pam Kelly, who was 83rd in 25:15.

Also for the Rams Kyleigh Ward was 85th in 25:22, Sarah LaFrance was 87th in 25:29, Carlyn Edsell was 110th in 27:53, Megan McClelland was 127th in 32:01 and Courtney Norman was 129th in 36:34.

In the Girls AA (Blue) race Sayre had four individual runs.

Katherine Porter led the way, taking 70th in 23:05 while teammate Sydney Beeman was 77th in 23:20. Also for the Redskins, Kristen Johnston was 114th in 24:35 while Kaitlyn Cron was 157th in 27:10.

Archbishop Wood won the race with 100 points while Villa Maria was second with 104. Danville took fourth with 175.


Wellsboro took 10th in the girls' varsity race with 241 points.

Jada Jackson led the way, taking 24th in 21:12.21 while Jordyn Coffee was 45th in 22:09.79.

Also for the Hornets, Camryn Keane was 59th in 23:00.91, Caitlynn Butler was 61st in 23:12.80, Samantha Bailey was 63rd in 23:14.99, Charlotte Worthington was 67th in 23:23.93 and Baylee Mann was 90th in 24:54.2.

Megan Aller of Kiski won the race in 19:23.39 as her team won the title with 49 points.

The Wellsboro boys were 19th with 491 points as Joey Doganiero led the way. He was 25th in 17:51.20.

Also for the Green Hornets, Joey Messmer was 95th in 20:11.21, Dalton Messmer was 122th in 20:58.85, Alden Weiner was 139th in 21:56.95 and David Zavetsky was 148th in 22:46.07.

Altoona won with 41 points as Dominic Stroh won the race in 16:18.82.