Several local individuals do well at Owego Invitational.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | September 21, 2014 | Photo courtesy The Review


2014 Owego InvitationalOWEGO, N.Y. - Several local individuals had top five finishes in three of the four varsity races at the Owego Invitational Saturday.

In the Large School boys' varsity race Towanda's Simon Smith was second in 16:23.9 while Northeast Bradford was fourth as a team with 113 points.

Maine-Endwell's Dan Schaffer won in 16:15 while his team took the title with 56 points.

Towanda (253) was 10th, Troy (254) was 11th and Athens (347) was 12th.

NEB's Levi Upham was seventh in 17:37.3 while Troy's Keegan Beard was 11th in 17:57.1. Panther Garret Smith was 16th in 18:19.9 while teammates Sam Beers (18:48) was 27th, Nate Mosier (18:55.10) was 31st and Austin Senn Bishop (18:57.4) was 32nd.

Towanda's Derrick Cole was 35th in 19:04 while NEB's Ben Horton was 39th in 19:12.

Troy's Jacob Culkin was 41st in 19:14.4 followed by NEB's Tyler Devonshire in 42nd at 19:15.1.

Troy's Kale Weidner was 49th in 19:49.8 while Athens' Kevin Singhel was 54th win 19:46.5. Fellow Wildcat Jeffery Gao was 60th in 20:06.7 while Towanda's Jordan Isbell was 63rd in 20:15.4.

NEB's Derek Allabaugh was 64th in 20:19 with Wildcat Sam Perri in 66th at 20:29 to round out locals in the top 75.

In the Small School boys' varsity race Notre Dame's Garrett Butters was second in 17:25.1 right behind winner, Ben Eisenhut of Lansing in 17:19.9.

Watkins Glen won the team title with 45 points while Notre Dame was sixth with 177. Waverly was eighth with 195.

Notre Dame's Matt Karee was fifth in 18:09.8 while Waverly's Collin Traub was 14th in 19:00.1.

Wolverines Garrett Sutryk (20:56.8) and Jason Jequinto (20:59.4) were 42nd and 43rd while Notre Dame's Matt Connolly was 44th in 21:01.9.

Waverly's Hunter Bodine was 54th in 21:46.5 while Tioga's Louis Levesque was 63rd in 23:15.8. Fellow Tiger Colton Lounsbury was 65th in 23:22.8.

Waverly's Brody Sprague (24:01.6) was 69th, Kacey Madigan (24:01.8) was 70th and Jared Vascoe (24:08) was 72nd to round out locals in the top 75.

In the Small School girls' varsity race Notre Dame's Chase Yoder was third in 21:17.8 while NEB was third with 105 points.

Watkins Glen won the team title with 61 while Newark Valley's Kayla Stewart won the race in 20:47.

Notre Dame was seventh with 158 points, followed by Waverly (186) in eighth and Troy (221) in 10th.

NEB's Karli Moyer (21:37.8) and Lydia Werner (21:44.2) were sixth and seventh while Troy's Courtney Case was 23rd in 22:48.3.

Waverly's Breanna Featherson (22:58.7) was 25th while teammate Kelsey Frank (23:09.5) was 26th.

NEB's Megan Allabaugh was 34th in 23:32.8 while Notre Dame's Claire Kubinski (24:01.7) was 39th.

NEB's Ella Brown (25:15.30) and Cassie Johnson (25:15.8) were 46th and 47th with Notre Dame's Clare Fontana (25:28.5) 49th.

NEB's Taylor Arnold (25:52.3) and Andrea Williams (25:52.4) were 52nd and 53rd.

Troy's Faith Cryan (26:04.7) was 55th, Notre Dame's Katherine Hallinan (26:29.6) was 60th, Waverly's Kate Oteng-Bediako (26:31.9) was 61st, NEB's Kira Pruyne (26:44.5) was 63rd, Troy's Leah Ward (26:46.3) was 64th and Notre Dame's Jordynn Naylor (26:48.4) was 65th.

Rounding out the top 75 locals were Waverly's Deanna Chandler (27:18.3) in 71st and Notre Dame's Ariana Bulkley (27:28.20) in 73rd.

In the Large School girls' varsity race Elmira won with 22 points while Express runner Abbey Wheeler took the individual title in 19:17.1.

Athens was eighth with 218 points while Towanda was 11th with 263.

Wildcat Maria Hudock was 18th in 22:27.1 while teammate Emily Arnold (23:41.8) was 30th.

Towanda's Kaitlin Purdy (23:50.6) was 35th while fellow Knight Ezoza Ismailova (24:40.0) was 47th.

Athens' Michaela Courtney was 57th in 25:36.5 while teammate Emily Madigan (25:47.3) was 59th.

Towanda's Kinslee Kriner (26:01) and Kaylee Fulmer (26:22.7) were 62nd and 63rd while Athens' Selkie Bishop (26:25.3) was 64th.

Towanda's Jazmine Reyes (27:14.5) was 68th, Athens' Michaela Babcock (27:21) as 69th, Towanda's Genesis Vasques (27:24.1) was 70th and Wildcat Cassie McDonald (27:32.8) was 71st.

Black Knight Monseaurt Vasques (28:05.9) rounded out the locals in the top 75 in 73rd.

"The Notre Dame kids did an outstanding job," said coach Jeff Naylor. "It was a great first invitational for this young ND cross country team."


Wyalusing (333) took 11th in the PIAA Foundation White boys' race while Sullivan County (361) was 12th.

Avonworth won the race with 119 points while individually Masterman's Julian Degroot-Lutzner won in 16:38.

The top local was Sayre's Nick Sweet, who was eighth in 17:44.

Wyalusing's Jordan Schools was 22nd in 18:21 while Sullivan County's Thomas Choplick was 37th in 18:45.

Ram Mitchell Schools was 55th in 19:06 followed by Griffin Liam Molyneux in 60th at 19:15. Wyalusing's Matt Woodruff was 66th in 19:23 while Sullivan's Jordan Beinlich was 73rd in 19:31.

Ram Tracey Brown was 96th in 20:11 while Griffins Jon Pedro (20:30) and Jordan Pedro (20:37) were 102nd and 104th.

Wyalusing's Matt McClelland was 109th in 20:42.

In the girls' White Race Sullivan County was 14th in 321 while Wyalusing was 15th in 337.

Elk Lake won with 78 points.

Vincentian's Marianne Abdalah won the race in 18:58 while Wyalusing's Morgan Sutton was the top local finisher in 23:08.

Sullivan's pack of Kelly Kramer (24:50), Bethany Lambert (25:00) and Alexis Kiess (25:04) were 60th, 63rd and 65th while Wyalusing's Kyleigh Ward (25:13) was 69th.

Ram Pam Kelley was 74th in 25:34 while Sullivan's Mackenzie Doyle (26:19) and Emily McMahon (26:49) were 86th and 89th.

Ram Megan McClelland (27:20) was 97th and teammate Rachel Jensen (28:45) was 109th.


The Wellsboro girls were 10th with 255 points at Altoona on Saturday.

Anna Bleggi was 33rd in 21:52.54 to lead the Hornets while Jada Jackson was 37th in 22:01.04.

Camryn Keane (22:28.88) was 45th, Jordyn Coffee (23:37.54) was 64th and Annie Sweeney (24:10.39) was 78th.

The Wellsboro boys were 22nd with 531.

Alden Weiner led the way, taking 83rd in 20:09.75 followed by Bryon Callahan in 92nd at 20:21.19.

Connor Brought was 119th in 21:48.41, Kyle Wilson was 123rd in 21:57.77 and Dalton Messmer was 137th in 23:00.32.